Awami League announces new central committee

Share Button

The Awami League has announced a 28-member Central Working Committee a week after holding its 20th National Council.

alcouncil-1Eighteen in the new committee are new, according to a party e-mail that announced the formation of the committee on Saturday.

A 38-member Advisory Council, 11-member Parliamentary Board and 19-member Local Government Nomination Board were also announced.

Sheikh Hasina was re-elected as president on Oct 23, the second day of the council, while Obaidul Quader replaced Syed Ashraful Islam as the party’s general secretary.

The new general secretary had signalled the announcement of the full committee on Friday evening after a meeting of the Presidium chaired by party chief Sheikh Hasina at Ganabhaban, the prime minister’s official residence.

Names for several secretary posts were also revealed then.

A 27-member Presidium was announced two days after the council with 22 new faces.

On Saturday, two more names were added. They are Forest and Environment Secretary Delwar Hossain and Deputy Publication Secretary Aminul Islam.

Names for four secretary positions are yet to be announced. The posts are for international affairs, science and technology affairs, youth and sports and deputy office secretary.

Most members of the past 28-strong Central Working Committee have been replaced.

The new members are – Food Minister Qamrul Islam, Momtaz Uddin (Bogra), Advocate Nazibullah Hiru, Nurul Islam Thandu, Dipankar Talukder, Badaruddin Ahmed Kamran, Amirul Islam Milon, Prof Rafikul Islam (Moulvibazar), Golam Kabir Rabbani Chinu, Advocate Riazul Kabir Kawser, Parvin Zaman Kalpana, Anwar Hossain, Iqbal Hossain Opu, Merina Jahan, Shammi Ahmed, Marufa Akhter Popi, Barrister Biplab Barua and Raymond Areng.

The old members are – Abul Hasnat Abdullah, Nurul Majid Humayun, Mofazzel Hossain Chowdhury Maya, Akhtaruzzaman, Mirza Azam, SM Kamal, AHM Khairuzzaman Liton, Munnujan Sufian, Simin Hossain Rimi, RAM Obaidul Mokhtadir Chowdhury.

Among those replaced are – Religious Affairs Minister Principal Matior Rahman, State Minister for Power Nasrul Hamid Bipu, State Minister for ICT Junaid Ahmed Palak.

Subhas Bose, AKM Rahmatullah, Dhirendra Debnath Shambhu, MA Mannan, Mostafa Faruk Mohammad, Advocate Mamtazuddin Mehedi and Alauddin Ahmed Chowdhury Nasim were also left out of the central committee.

The Advisory Council has seen very little change.

Former ministers Shafique Ahmed, AFM Ruhal Haque and Satish Chandra Roy have been made advisers along with incumbent Minister of Science and Technology Yeafesh Osman, who was a secretary in the Awami League’s past committee.

Those who have remained in the advisers’ body are – Dr SA Malek, Abul Maal Abdul Muhith, Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Suranjit Sengupta, Md Ishak Miah, Rahmat Ali, HT Imam, Mashiur Rahman, Yusuf Hossain Humayun, Rajiuddin Ahmed Raju, Mohiuddin Khan Alamgir, Syed Abu Nasar Advocate, Prof Abdul Khalek, Kazi Akram Uddin Ahmed, Professor Alauddin Ahmed, Advocate Syed Rezaur Rahman, Dr Anupam Sen, Prof Hamida Banu, Dr Md Hossain Mansur, Prof Sultana Shafi, AKM Fakhrul Islam Munshi, former ambassador Muhammad Zamir, Golam Mowla Nakshabandi, Mirza MA Jalil, Dr Pranab Kumar Barua, Maj Gen (retd) Abdul Hafiz Malik, Dr Saidur Rahman Khan and Gowher Rizvi.

KM Shafiullah, former army chief and parliament member, have been removed from the advisory body.

Leave a Reply

Related Posts